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Rules	
  Errata/Clarifications	
  
3.3.2 – Change the last sentence to read: “An admiral may not leave a ship unless it is on its 
damaged side, dismasted, or on fire.” 

3.6.3 (Small Ship Speed Enhancement) – Change the first sentence to read: “Ships with an 
Actual Rate of 5 or 6 (not G or T) on their undamaged side may optionally add one MP to their 
allotment upon activation, provided that they are not dismasted.” Also add this sentence to the 
end of the paragraph: “Ships that are in irons or that have 0 MPs may not use the small ship 
speed enhancement.” 

3.6.16 – Change the second sentence to read: “If at any point during its movement a ship shares a 
port or starboard hex side with an enemy ship that is Adrift, In Irons, Dismasted, Anchored, or 
Fouled, it may attempt to Grapple once during its activation.” Also change the eighth sentence to 
read: “Ships that are fouled may attempt to grapple the ship(s) with which they are fouled.” 

3.6.19 – Change the middle two sentences to read: “On a modified roll of 4 or less, the ship may 
either anchor in place or choose to drift 1 hex before doing so. On a roll of 5 or more, the ship 
must drift 1 hex before dropping anchor. 

3.6.19 (Rotating at Anchor) – Insert after the first sentence: (Exception – Oared ships may 
rotate any number of hexsides) 

3.7.7 (Rakes) – Insert this paragraph before 7) Firepower Determination: “Rake Limits: If a ship 
successfully performs a rake, it must completely exit the target’s rake line and then re-enter it in 
order to rake the same target again during the same activation. Exiting is defined as moving both 
the bow and stern off of the enemy’s rake line.” 

3.7.11 (Striking) – Change the first sentence to read: “A ship is vulnerable to strike when it is 
damaged and has three or fewer hull hits remaining or if it is both dismasted and within five 
hexes of an enemy ship or shore battery.” Change the third and fourth sentences to read: “If 
dismasted and within five hexes of an enemy ship or shore battery, a ship strikes on a modified 
roll of ‘6’ or more. If a ship is vulnerable under both cases (i.e. it has three or fewer hull hits and 
is dismasted while within five hexes of an enemy ship or shore battery), it strikes on a modified 
die roll of ‘2’ or more. 



3.9.3 a) Break-off Modifiers – Add this note to the end of the first bullet: “Do not count T-
Rated vessels unless at least one of the fleets involved in a battle is entirely composed of T-Rated 
vessels.” 

4.6.1 – Change the second sentence to read: “When firing upon a battery, only the Hull column is 
used. The only DRMs that are used on the Hit Results Table are for firing while anchored and 
firing outside the broadside arc.” Change the next to last sentence to read: “Batteries neither 
benefit from nor are penalized by wind effects and do not receive carronade bonuses.” 

Charts 

Collision Table – The results should be: 

0-9  No Collision 
10 or more Fouled! 
 
Sternway Table – The results should be: 

0-4  May drift one hex before rotating 
5 or more Must drift one hex before rotating 
 
Strike Table – The middle table should read: “When a ship is dismasted and within 5 hexes of 
an enemy ship or shore battery:” The bottom table should read: “When a ship has 3 or fewer hull 
hits remaining and is dismasted while within 5 hexes of an enemy ship or shore battery:” 

 



 

Flying	
  Colors	
  Scenario	
  Errata	
  
Camperdown 
Adamant should start in A6727-6827. 
 
Cape Finisterre 
Bucentaure should start in B1616-1715. Atlas is in the counter mix. 
 
Cape St. Vincent 
Use Colussus-b insead of Colossus. 
 
El Ferrol 
Both Impéteux and San Antonio are in the counter mix (San Antonio has a new counter in Ship 
of the Line). 
  
Frigate Bay (St. Kitt’s) 
Languedoc should start in A5013-5112. 
 
The Glorious First of June (all three scenarios) 
Add Brutus to the French setup in hex C5133, Direction 1. 
 
Gut of Gibraltar 
San Fernando should start in B4824-4823. 
 
Minorca 
Use Ramillies instead of Ramillies-b. 
 
The Nile 
There is no French ship called “Peuple Souverain”. It should just be “Souverain”. 
 
Virginia Capes 
Intrepid should start in C4601-B4734.



 

Ship	
  of	
  the	
  Line	
  Counter	
  Errata	
  
• The following ships replace those found in Flying Colors: 

British 
Dreadnaught 

Neptune 
Temeraire 

Tonnant 
Belle Isle 

Impeteux 
Valiant 

 
Spanish 

Monarca 
Montañés 

San Antonio 
San Agustín 

San Ildefonso 
San Juan Neopmuceno 

 

• The following ships enhance the original Flying Colors counter-mix: 

British 

Prince 
Prince George 

 
French 

Jacobin 
Convention 

Vengeur 
 

Spanish 



San Fermín 
San Francisco de Paula 

 

• The following is a list of errors on the counters for Ship of the Line: 

British 
Sultan-b is the same as Sultan. 

Princess Amelia should be a Black Rate 5 on reverse. 
Experiment should be Rate 5 on reverse. 

 
French 

Atlas is duplicated from Flying Colors. 
Desaix was not included in Ship of the Line. 

Consolante should be a White Rate 6 on reverse. 
 

Spanish 
Fénix should be a White Rate 5 on reverse. 

San Domingo should be a Black Rate 5 on reverse. 
 
Dutch 

Batavia, Erfprins and Piet Hein should be a White Rate 6 on reverse. 
Argo should be a Rate 6 on reverse. 

 
Markers 

The (-1) RR reduction was omitted from the additional 6-value Hull Hit markers supplied 
with Ship of the Line. 



 

Ship	
  of	
  the	
  Line	
  Scenario	
  Errata	
  
The Doggersbank 
Use H. Parker’s 2-5-1 counter. 
 
Fort Royal 
• Use Hood’s 3-7-4 counter. 
• The setup illustration in the playbook shows the wind at Direction 2. The text is correct – it 

should be Direction 3. 
 
Grenada 
Use H. Parker’s 2-5-1 counter. 
 
Rhode Island 
• The wind direction should be 3 (Breezy). 
• Roebuck should start in A5402 (Direction 4). 
• Phoenix should start in A5031 (Direction 4). 
 
The Saintes I+II 
Use Hood’s 2-6-4 counter. 
 
The Saintes II 
Special Rule #2 – The British may enter through any single hex between D4234 and D7034. 
 
Ushant I 
Special Rule #6 – The French entry hex should be D3034. 



 

Serpents	
  of	
  the	
  Seas	
  Errata	
  
• The following ships should have Marine values of 1 on their damaged sides: 

Essex (US), Essex-b (US), Indefatigable-b (BR), Nereide (BR), and Phoebe (BR). 
  
• The British ship Owen is missing the gray circle behind its hull damage capacity on its 

damaged side. 
 
• The “In Chains” markers were misprinted. They should say “In Irons”. 
 
• The rigging counters included with the game only go up to 12, but the sail damage capacity 

for all ships is still 15 hits as specified in 3.7.11. 
 
• The tacking modifier on the Out of Command Option card should be -3. 

 
• Valcour Island – Modify Special Rule #4 to read as follows: 
 

“Independent Gunboat Command: Given the size and light armament of these gunboats, they 
acted independently of the rest of the small fleets. To depict this, during the Command 
Determination phase of each turn, each player may select any gunboat to act as a command 
point for the other gunboats in the fleet. This gunboat is assumed to be stacked with a 
Commander with a 4-hex command range that may only be used to create Group or 
Formation commands. This commander has no other effect. Players can place a Command 
Split marker under the selected gunboat as a reminder.” 



	
  

C3i	
  Scenario	
  Errata	
  
C3i #20 
Trafalgar 
• Add the Spanish ship Argonauta to the Squadron of Observation. It begins in C2631-2531. 
• Neptuno should start in B6312-6313. 
• Leviathan should start in B3327-3228. 
• San Juan Nepumuceno should start in C1034 – (stern off map). 
 
 
C3i #21 
Duckworth’s Choice 
• Éole should start in A4718-4717. 
• Use César for Cassard. 
• Use Victoire for Veteran. 
 
Willaumez at Bay 
• Use César for Cassard. 
• Use Victoire for Veteran. 



 

Frequently	
  Asked	
  Questions	
  

3.8.1 If a ship of the side that has higher audacity happens to drift off of the map, does 
it count as sunk? 

 
It counts as sunk. 

 
3.6.9,  3.6.15 Can a ship that is required to move back one hex with the wind due to a poor roll 

on the Sternway Table cause a Collision, or is this treated like Drifting when the 
hex that would be entered is occupied by another ship? 

 
It’s treated as if drifting (no collisions). 

 
3.7.11 Is it correct that a Captured ship that is vulnerable must still roll for Striking, but 

with the Audacity modifier of the side currently controlling the ship? 
 

No. 
 
Can a ship that has Struck scuttle itself to avoid capture? 

 
No. 

3.7.7  (Rake)  Can a Dismasted (or otherwise immobile) ship attempt a Rake during its 
activation? 

 
Yes. 

 
3.7.7  7d) How strict is the definition of “firing into the wind” and “firing with the wind” for 

purposes of figuring the wind modifiers? 
 

The point to remember is that the target's location is irrelevant when figuring 
out the wind modifier. The only thing that matters is the position of the wind 
relative to the firing ship. 
 
See below 



 
 
 

	
  

	
  

Initiative Cards 

Can Master Helmsman be played on an enemy ship? 

Yes. 

If both players have Blind Eye to Danger in their hands and the first player uses it for an 
initiative, may the second player use his to steal the initiative back? 



Yes. 

If an event is played that does not specifically affect one ship or command (such as Blind Eye to 
Danger), does it count towards the limit of playing one event per ship/command? 

No. 


